- Firm Overview
- Practice Areas
- Family Law Victories
- Personal Injury Victories
- Info Center
Beginning January 1, 2014 drivers in Illinois will be subject to a new law prohibiting them from talking on or using a hand-held cell phone while they’re behind the wheel. This new law is designed to make the roads safer, and prevent distracted driving car accidents in Illinois.
The law was signed by Governor Pat Quinn in August of this year and carries heavy fines and penalties for violators. Devices covered under the law include hand-held wireless phones, hand-held personal digital assistants, and portable or mobile computers. Drivers found violating the law can be fined up to $75 for a first offence, $100 for a second, $125 for a third, and $150 for subsequent offenses.
There are a number of exceptions listed within the text of the law, including:
If you or someone you know has been injured in an accident that was the result of distracted driving, contacting a professional personal injury attorney is the first step to getting any funds you may be entitled to. We can help you determine if your case should be heard in court, and ensure that you receive the money you need to pay your medical expenses and begin the road to recovery.